Header Graphic


The History of Society of Women Writers WA


In Sydney, 1925, the wife of an English newspaper tycoon, visiting Sydney, asked to meet some Australian women writers.

      Since women writers at that time were not taken seriously, organising such a gathering was no easy task. However, when the occasion took place those who shared in the day so enjoyed the experience they decided to meet again. And so began meetings to discuss and compare their writings.

      From these small beginnings, the Society of Women Writers was formed, and membership grew quickly. Until the early 70s the Society was based in Sydney using a postal critiquing system to keep in touch.

      In 1978, State branches were established to care for a growing membership, with an agreement that Federal responsibility should be transferred from State to State every two years. Western Australia's branch started out operating purely through correspondence groups, it was not until 1981 that their first president, Ethel Webb, was appointed and meetings were held.


      Twenty years later, with membership still expanding and with increasing legal and financial concerns, it was decided to decentralise the Society.

      Thus in April 2000, The Society of Women Writers, WA, Incorporated was formed as an autonomous body. The Society then had approximately two hundred members from all over Western Australia.


      In 2011, The Society of Women Writers, WA, Incorporated celebrated 30 years of serving women writers across the State. Writers Circles are still operating keeping women writers in remote locations in touch and assisting each other, general meetings still attract a large attendance in Perth, and functions are frequently held to promote women writers, provide writing opportunities and encourage writers wherever possible.